Insight
How many times has Tesla's Robotaxi crashed, and what does the record show?
Short answer: Tesla has reported 23 Robotaxi crashes in Austin to NHTSA since June 2025, in data through August 17, 2026, up from 14 at the February 17, 2026 release. A crash report is not a finding of fault, and many involved another driver striking the Tesla. If you were hurt, the record of your own crash matters more than the count.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) collects these reports, and the Austin figure comes from the San Antonio Express-News. Tesla holds the record of any individual crash. Our article on who pays when a robotaxi crashes in Texas covers every Texas operator.
How many Tesla Robotaxi crashes have been reported?
Tesla reported 23 Austin crashes in NHTSA data through August 17, 2026, up from 14 at the February 17, 2026 data release:
| Date | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| June 22, 2025 | Robotaxi launches in Austin with a Tesla employee "safety monitor" in the passenger seat | Electrek, June 3, 2026 |
| February 17, 2026 data release | 14 Austin crashes reported to NHTSA | CBS News and Electrek, February 17, 2026 |
| Data through August 17, 2026 | 23 Austin crashes reported to NHTSA | San Antonio Express-News via GovTech, September 16, 2026 |
The federal reporting rule is triggered by outcomes such as a tow-away or an airbag deployment, not by fault. A raw count says nothing about miles driven, and many reported Tesla crashes involved another driver striking the Tesla. We give no per-mile rate for Tesla because we have not verified its mileage. Our robotaxi crash data page compares every operator's counts.
Was anyone hurt in a Tesla Robotaxi crash?
Yes. At least one reported crash was later classified as involving a hospitalization, according to Electrek's reporting on the NHTSA data (February 17 and May 15, 2026). Tesla first reported that July 2025 crash as property damage only. In December 2025, it filed an updated report raising the severity to "Minor W/ Hospitalization."
The updated narrative says an SUV rear-ended the Tesla at about 2 mph in a right-turn lane, and the safety monitor later reported pain and sought medical evaluation. A crash that looks trivial on paper can still send someone to a doctor. If you feel pain afterward, get checked and keep the records.
The person hurt was the safety monitor, a Tesla employee, and an employee's claim may follow different rules than a passenger's. A claim against the other driver who caused the crash is a separate matter.
Why were Tesla's Robotaxi crash reports redacted?
Tesla labeled its crash descriptions "confidential business information" and blacked them out. It was the only operator to fully redact its crash narratives, according to Electrek and TechCrunch (May 15, 2026). Tesla un-redacted them in May 2026.
The narrative is where a report describes the crash in words, so while Tesla's were hidden, nobody outside the company could use the public record to test its account. NHTSA's public data is still partly redacted for every operator. The full record comes from Tesla, through a preservation demand and, if a case is filed, discovery.
Were remote operators driving during any Tesla Robotaxi crashes?
At least three Tesla Robotaxi crashes happened while a remote operator, sometimes called a teleoperator, was controlling the car, according to TechCrunch (May 15, 2026) and Electrek (July 20, 2026):
- Austin, July 2025: the car hit a fence.
- Austin, January 2026: the car hit a barricade at about 9 mph.
- Houston, May 2026: the car hit a tree stump.
A remote operator means a second human in the story and a second set of records, so a preservation demand should ask for the remote operator's logs too.
Where does Tesla run Robotaxi, and is anyone from Tesla in the car?
It depends on the city and the date. Tesla started in Austin with a safety monitor in the passenger seat and has since run some Austin rides with no one from Tesla on board.
| City | Start date | Who is in the car |
|---|---|---|
| Austin | June 22, 2025 | Safety monitor in the passenger seat at launch. Limited rides with no monitor began January 22, 2026. Tesla said unsupervised service covered the Austin metro on June 3, 2026, though trackers counted only about 20 unsupervised vehicles (Electrek, June 3, 2026). |
| Dallas and Houston | April 2026 | Small fleets; supervision not stated in our sources |
| Miami | July 3, 2026 | Tesla has not confirmed whether Florida rides are supervised |
| Orlando and Tampa | July 21, 2026 | Tesla has not confirmed whether Florida rides are supervised; dates from a single report |
| San Francisco Bay Area | Not stated | Human safety drivers |
Launch dates outside Austin come from news reports, including Electrek (June 3 and July 20, 2026) and Reuters coverage of the Miami launch (July 2026).
How many Robotaxis does Tesla have registered in Texas?
When Texas began enforcing its authorization requirement on May 28, 2026, the Texas DMV registry listed 42 Tesla vehicles, against 577 for Waymo, 317 for Avride, and 35 for Zoox, according to CNBC (via The Next Web, May 31, 2026). Tesla North, a Tesla fan site, reported 739 registered Tesla vehicles (420 Model Y and 319 Cybercab) on October 8, 2026. Registered does not necessarily mean operating.
Companies running driverless vehicles in Texas need TxDMV authorization (Tex. Transp. Code § 545.456), and the authorization holder can receive traffic citations for the car (§ 545.454(b)). Tesla Robotaxi, LLC was listed as authorized on the TxDMV registry on May 28, 2026, according to Drive Tesla Canada (May 29, 2026).
We found no formal NHTSA defect investigation specific to Tesla Robotaxi. NHTSA said in June 2025 that it was "in contact with the manufacturer" after videos of erratic driving.
Who is responsible for a Tesla Robotaxi crash in Texas?
Whoever caused it, and Texas law makes the driving system itself a possible answer. When the automated driving system is engaged, "the automated driving system is the operator of the vehicle, including for purposes of assessing compliance with applicable traffic or motor vehicle laws" (Tex. Transp. Code § 545.454(a)). Questions you would ask about a human driver, like whether it failed to yield, get asked about the system and the company behind it.
That does not make Tesla responsible for every crash. When another driver hits the Tesla, the claim may run against that driver's insurance, and Tesla's video becomes evidence rather than the target. If you were partly at fault, Texas cuts your damages by your percentage and bars recovery above 50% (Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code ch. 33).
For insurance, Texas treats an automated motor vehicle as a transportation network company driver (Tex. Ins. Code § 1954.003), which brings in the rideshare coverage rules, including $1 million in aggregate liability coverage during a prearranged ride (§ 1954.053). More on fault and coverage: who is liable when a self-driving car crashes in Texas.
What should I do if I was hurt in a Tesla Robotaxi crash?
Get medical care, then lock down the evidence.
- See a doctor, even after a low-speed crash, and keep every record and bill.
- Photograph the vehicles, the scene, and your injuries, and get witnesses' names and numbers.
- If you were a rider, screenshot the trip details and receipt in the app.
- Send Tesla a written preservation demand quickly. Texas requires a commercial driverless vehicle to carry a manufacturer-installed recording device (Tex. Transp. Code § 545.455(b)(2)), but no federal law gives you a right to Tesla's camera, sensor, or log data. Ask for video, sensor data, remote operator logs, and event data recorder data. See our guide to robotaxi crash video and sensor data.
- Report the crash through the app and to TxDMV, which opened a public complaint process on June 2, 2026.
- Watch the calendar. Texas generally allows two years to file a personal injury suit, and two years from the date of death for wrongful death (Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.003).
Sources
- San Antonio Express-News via GovTech, September 16, 2026: Austin crash count
- NHTSA Standing General Order 2021-01, Third Amended, effective June 16, 2025: crash reporting rules
- Electrek, February 17, 2026, Electrek, May 15, 2026, Electrek, June 3, 2026, and Electrek, July 20, 2026: severity update, redactions, supervision, and remote-operator crashes
- CBS News, February 17, 2026: 14 Austin crashes
- TechCrunch, May 15, 2026: redactions and remote-operator crashes
- CNBC via The Next Web, May 31, 2026: Texas registry counts
- Tesla North, October 9, 2026 (fan site): registry count of October 8, 2026 and Cybercab audit query
- Reuters, July 6, 2026: Tesla Miami launch
- Drive Tesla Canada, May 29, 2026: Tesla Robotaxi, LLC on the TxDMV registry
- Federal statute: Driver Privacy Act of 2015
- Texas statutes: Tex. Transp. Code §§ 545.454, 545.455, 545.456; Tex. Ins. Code §§ 1954.003, 1954.053; Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.003 and ch. 33
Working with GB Law
Gianna Scatchell Basile is licensed to practice law in Illinois. GB Law does not represent clients in Texas or Florida. If you were hurt in a crash outside Illinois, we can help you find a lawyer licensed where it happened. If we refer your matter to another firm or work on it with one, we will tell you who that lawyer is and how any fee is divided before you sign anything, and you must agree to it in writing.
Questions people ask
Is Tesla's Robotaxi safer than a human driver?
The public data does not answer that yet. Tesla reported 23 Austin crashes to NHTSA through August 17, 2026, according to the San Antonio Express-News, but a crash count cannot become a rate without miles driven, and we have not verified Tesla's Robotaxi mileage. Many of the reported crashes involved another driver striking the Tesla.
Does Tesla have to report Robotaxi crashes to the government?
Yes. NHTSA's Standing General Order 2021-01 requires automated driving system operators to report, within 5 calendar days, crashes involving a death, a hospital-treated injury, a struck vulnerable road user, an airbag deployment, or a tow-away. Other qualifying crashes must be reported by the 15th of the following month. The public versions of those reports are partly redacted.
Has a Tesla Cybercab been in a crash?
Our sources do not break out Cybercab crashes separately from other Tesla Robotaxi crashes. Tesla North, a Tesla fan site, reported 319 Cybercabs on Tesla's Texas registry as of October 8, 2026 (registered, not necessarily operating). It also reported, as a single source, that NHTSA opened an audit query on Cybercab FMVSS certification in September 2026.
Can I sue Tesla if I was a passenger in a Robotaxi?
You may have a claim, but who it runs against depends on what caused the crash. If the automated driving system was at fault, Texas treats that system as the operator of the vehicle under § 545.454(a), which points toward the company behind it. If another driver hit the Robotaxi, the claim may run against that driver. Tesla's data matters either way.
Can I get Tesla's event data recorder data?
Not on your own. The Driver Privacy Act of 2015 makes event data recorder data the vehicle owner's property, which others can retrieve only with the owner's consent, a court order, or under narrow exceptions. In practice, an injured person gets it through a preservation demand followed by court discovery, so the demand should name the event data recorder specifically.
How long do I have to file a claim after a Tesla Robotaxi crash in Texas?
Generally two years. Texas sets a two-year deadline for personal injury claims and two years from the date of death for wrongful death claims under Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 16.003. The data you need can be overwritten long before that, so in practice the preservation demand cannot wait.
Speak with an attorney
If any of this sounds like your situation, the first conversation is free and confidential. You will leave knowing the next step.
Call (312) 248-3303This article is attorney advertising and general information only. It is not legal advice, and reading it or contacting GB Law does not create an attorney-client relationship. Deadlines and outcomes depend on the specific facts of each matter. Speak with an attorney promptly so a deadline does not decide your case for you.